What’s in the bag? Week 1

11.6.11 Olympic Training Center | Lake Placid Sliding Complex

It’s been a very rewarding week for me here in Lake Placid, New York! I’ve excelled as much as I’ve been humbled. I’m reminded that, “if it were easy, everyone would do it.” I awake daily with the understanding that my central goal is to better myself, to become stronger, faster, more agile –both physically and mentally. Week 2 begins, naturally, where my first week left off. I am armed now, though, with knowledge of the track at  Mt. Van Hoevenberg and with a healthy respect for its design.

What does the track look like?

I’ve been bombarded with various questions about my experiences thus far and in an effort to respond quickly I will entertain those most frequently asked:

What’s been the best part?

Learning. Learning a new sport. Learning about my body. Learning about the experience of Olympic preparation. Learning about the community of athletes and coaches who live within the walls of the OTC (Olympic Training Center).

What’s been the hardest part?

Learning. Learning to be patient. Learning to be malleable. Learning to be forceful and strong while simultaneously soft and perceptive. Learning that my commitment to Skeleton will be questioned because I have so many varied interests that extend beyond it. Learning that there is no “direct” path.

What do you do when not training?

Much of what I do at home: read, surf the web, make phone calls, attend to business matters. Yesterday, on my rest and recovery day, I explored Lake Placid with friends. To our amazement, we found the North Pole and Santa’s Workshop. No lie.

What is the OTC like?

This is best explained by comparison. Visualize, if you will, a college dorm or residential college with an attached cafeteria, common lounges, weight room, gymnasium, sports medicine center and computer lab. Now visualize the human element in those spaces.

So what is the difference between Bobsleigh and Skeleton anyway?

Let’s take a look at the Push Track [dry] training methods:                         

Until next time, I was never in the box! –Andia

2 responses to “What’s in the bag? Week 1

  1. Hi Andia! I will admit, I’ve seen this sport on my TV, in the past – but never knew what the formal name of it was. And, I probably questioned the sanity of those participating, lol. But, I have been enlightened, and certainly inspired by your range of athletic ability (and aspirations)! You rock, simply put. Good luck with your upcoming trainings!

Thoughts?

